Firefly Car Rental

1.00 stars

15 Reviews

GBP silhouette


Want to resolve an issue with Firefly Car Rental?

Make a complaint

Or simply share your experience

Write a review

anne's complaint against Firefly Car Rental

anne millington


[RESOLVED] - I booked a hire car. Firefly told mne my paper driving licence wasnt valid

Complaint against Firefly Car Rental

I booked a hire car , using Do You Spain, from Firefly car rental to collect at Madrid airport. When I arrived I was told my paper driving licence wasn't valid. They could do me a 'favour' and change the booking to my friends name for a cost of 160 euros. My licence hadn't been valid for 2 months The supervisor was contacted and said that my licence wasn't valid from May, I drove using it in July. She could change the booking for 120 euros. I contacted Do You Spain, who changed the booking to my friends name , at no cost. I couldn't be added as extra driver We went to Alicante airport, where there was no problem adding me as a driver I looked at DVLA website, which states my paper licence is valid. I checked Firefly website which says car hire is possible with a valid licence, it doesn't specify a photo licence. My complaint is about the lack of knowledge of the staff at Madrid airport and the problems this caused us on our trip

  • supporters 0

Firefly Car Rental resolved this complaint

  • Comments (4)

anne millington | | VERIFIED

Firefly replied on 16 October, saying they would get back to me Do You Spain replied on 13th October saying they would investigate ECRCS replied on 19 October saying they cant help until the company have failed to do anything

anne millington | | VERIFIED

Ref. No: 5770632 Rental Agreement #: 91643622 Thank you for contacting Firefly Rent a Car. I have reviewed your query and would like to inform you that a photon driving license is mandatory in all our rentals. As you did not have this document with you, you were given the option of adding an additional driver to your booking. This was accepted by you so an extra charge has been correctly billed for this service. I am not able to give a refund. I want the staff properly trained not a refund

anne millington | | VERIFIED

Firefly have agreed they were wrong and offered 30 euros as a gesture of goodwill

anne millington | | VERIFIED

Firefly have agreed they were wrong and offered 30 euros as a gesture of goodwill
400 characters

14 other reviews of Firefly Car Rental