Currys PC World

4.00 stars

2645 Reviews

GBP silhouette

SAVE ON YOUR INSURANCE

Christine's complaint against Currys PC World

Christine Butler

29/10/2015

Insulting disrespectful staff with blame culture.

Complaint against Currys PC World

Bought a Lenovo laptop from PC World Leeds Birstall. July 2015 had it updated in store to Windows 10, bit annoyed they charged me, and with 1hr - 1hr 20 ( depending on traffic ) round trip to store it was rather inconvenient as I had to go back to collect the next day. Immediately on use this laptop dropped off of the Internet, then by September it went into repair loop with no option to restore factory setting and no access to safe mode or safe networking, all menus just led back to repaire mode, cannot restore, so it was looping in boot. Trip 3 to PC to return, saw and I lovely lady on help desk who said it was a hard drive fault it needed to go to Newark for new hard drive, she also noted down the wi fi issue, I knew it was the hard drive so I felt relieved when she confirmed this. A week later I went (trip 4) to pick the laptop up. Next day trip 5 I returned laptop - yes no longer had loop problem but was still dropping off internet; incidentally it had not had a new hard drive just been reinstated. Plus it was running on Windows 8. Again I saw the same lovely lady, and she phoned Knowhow asked why they hadn't looked at wi fi and actually told them, they were; "Reinstating all too often and it's happening far too often where they just reinstate but don't replace hardware, she even told them they were going for lazy easy option." On hanging up from them, she advised that I could choose another laptop and she would replace. Fantastic except I purchased an end of line, nothing in store to match that spec, i7, in fact nothing in store as it is currently going through refurbishment. I had little option but to accept another repair, I was assured the hardware would be fully replaced if I accepted the repair. Tues 27 Oct I received a phone call my laptop was ready for collection. I asked, "has it been updated to Windows 10?" and was advised " it had all been done for me". Trip 6 was to collect. My heart sank when the plastic travel box was opened to reveal an old tatty laptop, and not my new Lenovo, apparently the mix up was for a Mr J and I am Miss C ( you just couldn't make this incompetence up could you?) Finally mine laptop was found, I opened it and clicked it on only to find it was running on Windows 8 - why do your employees lie? I asked to speak to the manager. he told me Newark is separate to in store and they are not responsible for Newarks mistakes? But they made this mistake twice, what kind of a manager allows staff to make the same mistake twice? Moreover in the box with my laptop was a handwritten letter in an envelope which had been opened, staff opened the letter looked at it and handed it to me to ask if I knew about it? I assume they had read the address of the complainant was in Essex and we are in West Yorkshire, I wonder what happened to that letter and complaint, I very much doubt it will be dealt with? Today I made trip 7 to collect laptop, there were five assistants behind the counter, but only one serving, their shoddy dress code (leggings and Pom Pom hat being warn didn't impress me). After a ten minute wait; Hurrah, we checked my laptop, the wifi card has been replaced, it was running Windows 10 but very slowly, David the assistant told me that was "their wi fi and nothing to worry about." Trip 8 was made two hours later, not only is the laptop running slowly on my wi fi, but now it constantly goes into restarting mode where it stays! At this point I am losing the will to live, I've spent nearly 11 hours commuting to the store, I have been without my laptop, I cannot believe the incompetence of PC World. When sales assistant David saw me he started to smirk and laugh and find it funny, I did not have the capacity to share his joke; I asked for the manager: Surprise, Surprise he wasn't available! I saw Craig the assistant manager, he agreed there was an issue with my laptop, but because I bought a discontinued model there is nothing of i7 spec available unless I spend another £200. PC World are offering £100 discount for an old PC in part exchange so instead of me paying the £200 difference what are they prepared to offer me for my time, inconvenience, petrol, and paying for Office on a laptop I haven't been able to use for a month? The manager insulted me by telling me he would reduce the cost by £30. Yes £30 for 80 miles 11 hours, what an insult! Why would I want to give this set of muppets more money? I DON'T AND WON'T! I have had no choice but to go for another botch up repair for which I have no confidence working. There are facts I don't understand; 1. I am now told I cannot have complete new hardware put into my laptop as it may only be a software problem, and they don't replace hardware if it shows a software fault - mmmm first time my laptop went in they missed the wi fi fault, did a software reinstate, so it had to go back for new hardware! 2. Why would a letter of complaint from Essex end up in my laptop box, why was I shown the letter, don't they know anything about confidentiality? 3. Why the Pom Pom hat indoors, he was quite clearly supposed to be working? 4. Why lie on the phone, then when caught out is the customer caught in the middle of the manager saying it is Newarks fault. twice I was lied to re Windows 10 being downloaded and it resulting in a wasted journey. 5. Sadly the staff find this amusing, even the assistant manager sneered and sniggered. Appalling ... I have no words. 6. Do you honestly think £30 is sufficient for stress, 11 hours commuting, 80 miles and paying for Office I have not been able to use. I want a new printer and a new Dyson cleaner, I won't be going to this set of sniggering lying muppets for either - I also have a £50k budget for computer technology re a professional role I undertake and you have just lost that potential deal - All I asked for was a laptop of the same i7 spec that I already have without having to throw anymore more money at you, because you are not worth it, you are a multi million pound company, if the difference between my laptop and one in store is £200 that's £100 with the trade in, that's not very much for my time petrol and stress is it. I have accepted three repairs none of which you have managed to get right and you still won't commit to replacing the hard drive. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO LEAVE MY LAPTOP FOT ANOTHER REPAIR - I HAVE NO CHOICE TO SPEND ANOTHER 1 hour 20 minutes GOING TO COLLECT IT? (I asked for it to be delivered to my work, but assistant manager Craig refused. PC WORLD BIRSTALL LEEDS - with the exception of one member of staff who openly told Knowhow; "this is happening too often every time we send a repair you reinstate rather than dealing with the problem, it is happening more and more" then apart from her the rest of staff are a set of sniggering liars and a disgrace - PC WORLD YOU ARE NOT WORTH A SINGLE STAR YOU MANAGERS AND STAFF ARE INSULTING AND HAVE LOST YOU FUTURE CUSTOM!

  • supporters 1

Currys PC World failed to resolve this complaint

  • Comments (30)

DENIS O REGAN | | VERIFIED

I KNOW HOW BAD CURRYS ARE . I BAUGHT A £79 PORTABLE TELEVISION FROM THEM AND WHEN IT WENT WRONG THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME £50 FOR AN ESTIMATE TO REPAIR IT . TOTALLY SHOCKING COMPANY .

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Apologies for this Denis. Can you send a private message with your address and receipt details on and we can take a look for you - Ian

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

I wouldn't bother with the Private message Denis; all that happens is they keep it "off page/out of www view" and you get passed round from person to person. I am going to buy a new laptop but NOT I repeat NOT from them!

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hi Christine and Denis, the reason that we request a private message to be sent to us is that is not the wisest idea to post your personal details in public on a public forum. A private message makes this far more secure - Ian

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

I appreciate the confidentiality, but private emails for me were not productive, I got passed round from pillar to post and collected emails with no solution - I base my comment on experience for which I have an inbox full of evidence!

DENIS O REGAN | | VERIFIED

CURRYS THE REASON YOU WANT THE MESSAGE TO BE PRIVATE IS BECAUSE YOU DONT WANT THE PUBLIC TO SEE JUST HOW BAD YOU ARE. SENDING YOU A PRIVATE MESSAGE WOULD HAVE EXACTLY THE SAME EFFECT YOU WOULD STILL DO NOTHING BUT THE PUBLIC WOULD NOT SEE HOW RUBISH YOU ARE . I AVOID CURRYS LIKE THE PLAGUE.

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Sorry to hear that you feel this way Denis. Regrettably we do need your address and receipt details and the only safe way for you to send them is via a private message. Apologies if you don't want to send them to us. - Ian

DENIS O REGAN | | VERIFIED

I FULLY AGREE CHRISTINE LIQUIDATION A GUARANTEE.THIS THE WAY THEY TREAT CUSTOMERS BEFORE THEY GO UNDER.

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Love the psychology email "sorry you feel this way..." Giving them your email address only means they fill your inbox and pass you round various personnel - shame we can't push them under and hold them down Denis - don't know another shop where customer services are wearing knotted Pom Pom hat - and I am NOT talking Santa hats as their is no goodwill with this set of ****** they wouldn't even manage to operate the pantomime horse despite the fact that "nay" seems to be the on their script!

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hi Christine, thank you for contacting us regarding your laptop. Im concerned to hear about the issues you have raised. So I can investigate this for you, can you please send your address and any reference numbers you have via private message? Thanks, Rach

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

User Responded via private message

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hi Christine, Iv sent you an email from [email protected] which you can reply to. Thanks, Rach

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Latest reply from Knowhow was Sunday 1st Nov - apparently this laptop is "not compatible to Windows 10 upgrade" MMM that will be why I paid £30 for an installation as opposed to an upgrade, rather than upgrading myself - so they charged me for an installation and gave me an upgrade? Apparently Rachel is going to email me and sort this - that was Sunday.... It is 11pm on Tuesday, still no email! At least PC World are consistent in their failings. Lost faith - time to consult financial ombudsman

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hi Christine, Many thanks for your continued correspondence. Apologies that Rachel has not updated you on the repair, as I understand it the repair centre agent has called you to give you a quick update. It seems there is compatibility issues with Windows 10 on your machine, if this is the case then as a gesture I would be more than happy to look at reimbursing you this charge. I can email if you wish with an update on your repair? Thanks, Ollie

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Have I got this right, you sold me Windows 10 installation, but did an incompatible upgrade instead, but charged me for installation? Now as a "gesture" you are going to refund me for something I didn't get? That's theft! Not some sort of "gesture". What about fact that I was sold a Windows 10 Compatible laptop, I have bought office, I am now in week 4 of being without a laptop and I have made nine return trips to store and you expect me to wait for a repair - what planet are you on?

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hi Christine, Understand where you are coming from, the store usually would not refund the upgrade charge as it would be classed as successful. Upon further review on our end it is only right to refund this for you upon completion of the repair. The good news is that it should be back shortly as it has just passed the quality assurance stage we put it through. Thanks, Ollie

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

That's not good news! Nor is it good news that I purchased a Windows 10 installed laptop and have a repaired Windows 8 - you need to be refunding me cost of everything including Office which I obviously cannot use without a laptop, and you need to be reimbursing me out of pocket expenses! The last twice its passed quality assurance it first needed a new WI fi card and after 2nd QA was blue screening. Wonder why I am not confident with a third QA attempt? I BOUGHT AND WANT WIN 10 laptop!

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hello Christine, Any possibility I can email you the situation as there is a character limit on this forum. Thanks, Ollie

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

You can indeed email me as Rachel has my email address, I note you are now playing the game of passing me round from colleague to colleagues! Update the Windows 10 laptop I purchased is now a restored and repaired Windows 8 laptop ready for collection, not even a home delivery offered! I really can't face Sunday traffic to a trading estate. - THIS IS NOT A RESOLUTION! All these people do is pass you round and try to grind you down, once they have your money you can forget service!

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

Hi Christine, I have read your conversation with Rachel and can see your issues have been logged at reviewed on case reference CC2857458. Checking your repair it shows our engineer called you on the 01/11/15 to advise there are compatibility issues with windows 10 and your unit. This is why we restored your unit to windows 8. When you are able to collect your unit I hope you can enjoy it's use once again now repaired. Thanks Georgia

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

You seem to be missing the point that this laptop has now had three repairs, I wanted windows 10 and have ended up with windows 8, you are not compensating me in any way, and please tell me how I enjoy my repaired Windows 8 when I wanted windows 10? I note this has moved from Rachel > Ollie>Georgina = STILL NO RESOLVE! it's looking like I am going to press the red button and "close unhappy" - VERY UNHAPPY !

TEAM KNOWHOW | | VERIFIED

As our engineer explained when he called your Christine, your unit has capability issues with windows 10. Should you chose to amend it to this further issue may occur, I am sorry for the disappointment. Rachel did offer you a £30 gesture of goodwill, which was refused. I feel this is a reasonable offer based on travel costs if you are happy to accept this I can process this for you now? Thanks Georgia

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

AS I EXPLAINED I WAITED FOR WINDOWS 10 TO BE RELEASED. THEN PURCHASED A LAPTOP WITH CAPACITY FOR THIS HENCE I PAID £30 FOR INSTALLATION AND NOT AN UPGRADE - I have had 9 visits to store, been offered £30 for all my hassle and as a gesture of "goodwill" you will refund the £30 you robbed me of when you charged me for an installation but gave me an upgrade. SO BOTTOM LINE IS I GET £30 for a laptop which won't run windows 10 - you have sold me something unfit for purpose! I WANT WINDOWS 19 laptop

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Oops Typo! I WANT A WINDOWS 10 LAPTOP , I don't want passing round from pillar to post or repeated visits to your dreadful store! I am gaining no pleasure from this - I HOPE THIS THREAD PROVES JUST HOW AWKWARD AND UNCOMPROMISING YOU ARE.

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Picked it up Friday, raised some energy to switch it on today and it can't find the wifi (but that was a windows 10 issue and reason why I have to have a windows 8 + it has had a new wifi card). the www is full of Lenovo Flex Pro 2 15 with this problem - now if I can read this why can't PC World. Two hours searching and it finally found the wifi - can't help thinking this won't be my last post on here! Just not happy!

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Time to close this as an unhappy customer, stuck with a crap Lenovo laptop Windows 8 but paid for Windows 10 - don't use it, hate it and the whole PCW experience, been passed round so many different personnel from PCW all who pass me on to someone else, with no follow up whatsoever - Going to buy an Ipad pro; but NOT from PCW - Morale of the story **** laptop from **** store - I will watch their place on the high street, hopefully it won't be too long before they sink, they deserve liquidation!

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Time to close this as an unhappy customer, stuck with a crap Lenovo laptop Windows 8 but paid for Windows 10 - don't use it, hate it and the whole experience, been passed round so many different personnel from all who pass me on to someone else, with no follow up whatsoever - Going to buy an Ipad pro; but NOT from them - Morale of the story **** laptop from **** store - I will watch their place on the high street, hopefully it won't be too long before they sink, they deserve liquidation!

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Time to close this as an unhappy customer, stuck with a crap Lenovo laptop Windows 8 but paid for Windows 10 - don't use it, hate it and the whole experience, been passed round so many different personnel from all who pass me on to someone else, with no follow up whatsoever - Going to buy a the latest Apple but NOT from them - Morale of the story **** laptop from **** store - I will watch their place on the high street, hopefully it won't be too long before they sink, they deserve liquidation!

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Time to close this as an unhappy customer, stuck with a crap Lenovo laptop Windows 8 but paid for Windows 10 - don't use it, hate it and the whole experience, been passed round so many different personnel from all who pass me on to someone else, with no follow up whatsoever - Going to buy a new one but NOT from them - Morale of the story **** laptop from **** store - I will watch their place on the high street, hopefully it won't be too long before they sink, they deserve liquidation!

Christine Butler | | VERIFIED

Time to close this as an unhappy customer, stuck with a crap Lenovo laptop Windows 8 but paid for Windows 10 - don't use it, hate it and the whole experience, been passed round so many different personnel from all who pass me on to someone else, with no follow up whatsoever - Going to buy a new Ipad pro but NOT from them - Morale of the story **** laptop from **** store - I will watch their place on the high street, hopefully it won't be too long before they sink, they deserve liquidation!
400 characters

2,644 other reviews of Currys PC World


loader